Sports News

Australia T20I squad will remain unchanged despite South Africa tour call off

Australia’s T20I team, which is visiting New Zealand for five matches at the end of this month, will remain unchanged despite the postponement of the Test series in South Africa.

The evacuation and two-week management will begin in Christchurch on 7 February. The Test team had several first-choice T20 players, including David Warner, Steven Smith, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc.

The need for separate touring parties opened the door for New Zealand to include some fringe and new players. Series with a team coached by Andrew McDonald.

CA Chief Executive Officer Nick Hockley said:-

When we announced two squads. The T20 team has started its pre-departure protocol to move safely to New Zealand.

The scrubbing of the South Africa tour and the fact that neither of those players will advance to Tasman opens up the possibility of a strong Sheffield Shield tournament scheduled after BBL. But after the lockdown – Sheffield Shield is currently on February 12. Is rank 16th after the One-Day Cup due to restart.

If the visits to New Zealand and South Africa concurrently, some states will have to reduce their reserves significantly over the next few months.

T20I squad:-Aaron Finch (capt), Matthew Wade (VC), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Phillip, Jhe Richardson, Ken Richardson, Daniel Symes, TanvirSangha, D ‘Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

The expansion is likely to overlap with the next edition of the IPL due to the expansion with the domestic season by the end of April as the delay 2020 tournament was held in October and November last year.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button