Sports News

Merv Hughes inducted to Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

Former fast bowler Merv Hughes has become the latest inductee into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame. In an international career spanning nine years, the burly Victorian with his famous handlebar mustache represented the national team in 53 Tests taking 212 wickets. He also played 33 ODIs including the 1992 World Cup at home.

“To come in alongside some of the names that are in there is overwhelming and I’m a little bit emotional,” Hughes said on Tuesday. “Now 26 years after I finished playing, to still be recognized, it has blown me away. It’s very humbling.”

In a first-class career spanning 14 seasons and 165 matches, Hughes took 593 wickets including 21 five-wicket hauls at an average of 29.39. He is perhaps best remembered for a sensational 8 for 87 against the West Indies at the WACA, Perth in 1988 which included a hat-trick spread across three separate overs and two innings. That he achieved his feat after losing bowling partner Geoff Lawson to a broken jaw underscored his ability to hold a bowling attack together.

A Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1994, Hughes also represented Victoria, Essex, and the ACT and post his playing career transitioned into cricket administration, serving as the national team’s selector between 2005 and 2010.

Personal Information

Merv Hughes was born on 23 November 1961 in Euroa, Victoria, his place of birth

Batting Style – Right Handed Bat

Bowling Style – Right-arm fast

Career Information:-

Merv Hughes was one of the finest fast bowlers to represent Australia. Calling from Victoria, Hughes is first remembered by his handlebar mustache, Hughes entered the field of sports at a very young age. He started playing district cricket in 1978–79 before making his first-class debut for Victoria against South Australia in 1981–82.

Previous Hall of Fame Inductees:-

  • 1996 – Fred Spofforth, John Blackham, Victor Trumper, ClarrieGrimmett, Bill Ponsford, Sir Donald Bradman, Bill O’Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall and Dennis Lillee.
  • 2000 – Warwick Armstrong, Neil Harvey and Allan Border
  • 2001 – Bill Woodfull and Arthur Morris
  • 2002 – Stan McCabe and Greg Chappell
  • 2003 – Lindsay Hassett and Ian Chappell
  • 2004 – Hugh Trumble and Alan Davidson
  • 2005 – Clem Hill and Rod Marsh
  • 2006 – Monty Noble and Bob Simpson
  • 2007 – Charles Macartney and Richie Benaud
  • 2008 – George Giffen and Ian Healy
  • 2009 – Steve Waugh
  • 2010 – Bill Lawry and Graham McKenzie
  • 2011 – Mark Taylor and Doug Walters
  • 2012 – Shane Warne
  • 2013 – Charlie Turner and Glenn McGrath
  • 2014 – Mark Waugh and Belinda Clark
  • 2015 – Adam Gilchrist and Jack Ryder
  • 2016 – Jeff Thomson and Wally Grout
  • 2017 – David Boon, Matthew Hayden and Betty Wilson
  • 2018 – Norm O’Neill, Ricky Ponting and Karen Rolton
  • 2019 – Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Dean Jones and Billy Murdoch
  • 2020 – Sharon Tredrea and Craig McDermott

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button