Alejandro Davidovich Fokina managed to lose a Grand Slam match in an unusual method. He wasn’t sure exactly what regulation was so unique that it caught him.
Davidovich Fokina of Spain was eliminated from Wimbledon’s second-round match against Jiri Vesely of the Czech Republic on Wednesday after chair umpire Carlos Ramos assessed a point penalty for ball abuse.
After nearly four hours of play on Court 17, the final score was 6-3, 5-7, 6-7 (2), 6-3, 7-6 (10-7) in Vesely’s favor.
Davidovich Fokina had previously received a ticket for a different code infraction. Davidovich Fokina contested the decision when Ramos decided to halt the play, claiming that his two citations were for different offenses.
But it doesn’t matter since if there are two of these in a single game, the opponent gets a point. In the first-to-10-points, win-by-two final set tiebreaker, Vesely had a 9-7 advantage following Davidovich Fokina’s missed forehand.
Davidovich Fokina is already out of the Wimbledon men’s singles bracket after defeating No. 7 seed Hubert Hurkacz in another fifth-set tiebreaker on Monday.
In the third round, Vesely will take against American Tommy Paul, who is seeded thirty.
#davidovichfokina #wimbledontennisresults #sportswimbledon
Read more Business, Entertainment, Social, Politics , Real Estate , Finance , Sports